Jeanette S
Jeanette S
  • Hometalk Helper
  • Atlanta, GA
Asked on Oct 4, 2017

ADVICE AND OPINIONS ON PAINTING BRICK!

Barbara DavisRose BroadwaySylvana Menolascino
+11

Answered

My house is a late 60s, early 70s style...part wood and part brick...in other words...a mixed up style! Part colonial with siding and shutters, and part Spanish with brick and arches.

Until recently I have been a real traditionalist with the belief of "never paint brick!"

However, seeing how so many of those drab, pitiful looking houses on those "rehab shows" are given a face lift with paint, I want to paint my brick! What I would really like to do is GERMAN SCHMEAR but I am afraid I can't find anyone who can do this well!

I like the instructions from Bob Villa I printed out, but I would like the opinion/advice of anyone who has painted their house.

I am thinking about ivory with charcoal shutters! ??? (I love bright colors, but I don't want to spring too much change on my guy all at once!! LOL)



q advice and opinions on painting brick
It sits 71' off the curb down a slope. In fact, cars in driveway are below grade so it is vital to keep it a light color. Also, the storm severely damaged that large tree on the right so it is coming out soon!
10 answers
  • TM
    on Oct 4, 2017

    The TV rehab shows make a painted brick home look great, but brick needs to "breath", painting it can cause moisture to become trapped and damage your home. Also consider the maintenance, once it's painted it requires re painting every 3-4 years. I have read that staining brick is a better option if you want to change the color.
  • Fiddledd224
    on Oct 4, 2017

    Jeanette, this is such a huge project and potentially costly, so I would take my time and do some research. I would go to a home improvement store like Lowes or Home Depot and look at the many home improvement magazines that show just this kind of project. Cut out pictures of all that you like and collect them for ideas. Then whittle them down until you have the "perfect exterior" and then buy the materials and go at it.
  • Sylvana Menolascino
    on Oct 4, 2017

    Firstly, cut down the tree, get rid of those arches on the front porch do a railing instead, spend some money on better landscaping, and bring your house into what is more up to date :)
    Secondly, if anything, I would paint the siding and then MAYBE stain the brick, but personally you are missing the bigger picture the arches and landscape are the problem.
    • Jeanette S
      on Oct 4, 2017

      P.S. This photo was taken a couple of years ago when the landscaping was suffering for about 10 years of drought! In fact, we recently spent a couple of thousand dollars just repairing the sod! The water system in this area has gone bonkers...we cannot afford to come to their attention with a large watering bill...even though we have a sprinkler system. Once someone gets a $3,000 water bill, they just keep coming! It is impossible to get through to someone at the County that 2 people whose bi-monthly bill has run about $80 suddenly went to $3,000! I could not deal with that!

  • I've had a few painted brick homes and love them! My one story is currently painted a soft creamy greyish with black trim and it's beautiful! Homes have weep holes in the brick, moisture is not a problem!
    • Jeanette S
      on Oct 4, 2017

      I guess since we live in a "very high" humidity area we might want to stain instead of paint!! Thanks!
  • Chubby58
    on Oct 4, 2017

    I think that is pretty brick. I would paint the trim and the shutters a different color and paint the railings black. I love the arches!
  • Deborah S Cripple
    on Oct 4, 2017

    I love the arches and your landscape!!
    I would also paint the railings in black and leave the bricks as is...Also, paint your trim and shutters a contrast color...Your house is very pretty!
  • You saw I'm in the Houston area, also very humid, has not caused a problem if house is primed before painting!
  • Sylvana Menolascino
    on Oct 5, 2017

    Well then I guess I would spend zero money and take a vacation instead
  • Rose Broadway
    on Oct 5, 2017

    Jeanette, I think all of your brick is very pretty, and I'm not sure I would paint or stain it. Paint the rest of the house first with whatever light color you choose, maybe paint the shutters black, then live with it for a couple of days and decide the fate of the brick. The arches are attractive. Let us know what you do with it!!
  • Barbara Davis
    on Oct 5, 2017

    I totally agree with Rose Broadway
Your comment...