Kim
Kim
  • Hometalker
  • Shell Knob, MO
Asked on Oct 4, 2017

Honest opinions please

SharonJoy ArmstrongPeggy
+30

Answered

This is the window of my Mother’s beauty salon
I did all the staging and some of the decore Would you notice this if walking by? is it appealing enough for you to want to come in side? Thanks very much
q honest opinions please
q honest opinions please
q honest opinions please
22 answers
  • Ann Cherkas Halstead
    on Oct 4, 2017

    Very nice!! Maybe open the brushes and put them in the painted mason jar.

  • Kate
    on Oct 4, 2017

    You need a bright color in there. Maybe a red that really pops. Too many colors the same tone. In the cabinet, put some paper in the background - white or cream, maybe a pattern to highlight the bottles. A bright piece of fabric at the base, twined around the items to lead the eye. Maybe some small fairy lights, the really small ones, battery operated on copper wire.
    • Kim
      on Oct 5, 2017

      thanks very much! I honestly hadn't even given thought to color..duh
      you're absolutly right!
  • Dfm
    on Oct 4, 2017

    the 1st photo... the wood pieces are pretty much the same color,, that's okay but you might want to have more contrast with the items.
  • Nancy
    on Oct 4, 2017

    Hard pressed to know that it's a salon. It looks like a second hand store to me.
    • Nanna
      on Oct 4, 2017

      yes, i agree, i had to re-read the caption to know it was a Hair Salon, not a second hand store. Show some hair styles, or irons, or dryers, something to immediately speak to you
  • Fiddledd224
    on Oct 4, 2017

    It is so nice of you to do this for your Mom! I would take a few things out, though since less is more when you are trying to attract attention. Use the flowers to decorate the inside of the salon -- but keep the "salon stuff" in the window so everyone knows that it is a salon.
  • Leemiller
    on Oct 4, 2017

    No, nothing says salon except a box of hairbrushes. It looks like your saying "come on in to my junk store". You asked for an honest opinion.
  • Bonnie
    on Oct 4, 2017

    I would use fewer vases and jars. There's nothing that really ties them together and they distract from the salon products that tell people "this is a salon" rather than "this is an antique shop". I also agree with the comments above that some color would help draw attention.
  • Robyn Garner
    on Oct 4, 2017

    Hi Kim! I'm sure your Mom appreciates your help but.....please don't feel bad for my comments. First, speak to all your product suppliers. They will GIVE you all sorts of display & design materials/ideas. Your design is not "cutting edge" enough for a salon.

    Secondly, your display is very flat. You haven't used the height of the window, the depth of the space or lighting to highlight anything that yells, "Hey, come in! I'm a salon, a stylist and a place to be your spa".

    Do some research on your own here:
    (I personally LOVE the yellow painted entryway!)

    AND....please utilize your suppliers for their materials, designs, help, etc.
    I'd also encourage you to add good window lighting, paint, and a window sign (which can be gotten cheap here: https://www.google.com/search?rlz=1C1AOHY_enUS708US708&q=salon+window+decals&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjUoqn1itfWAhUP12MKHel7APkQ1QIIgAEoAA)
    • Kim
      on Oct 5, 2017

      Oh I’m not offended at all! (I’ve done hair for 18 yrs can’t be to sensitive lol)
      Thanks very much for your help & the links!!
  • Kar27884959
    on Oct 4, 2017

    Too spaced apart. Group some items. Stack some books then place flower vase ontop. Get rid of single flower vase, one should be sufficient. Group hair products according to the brand and type. (Ex. Hair conditioning/shampoos together, styling products together, brushes and combs together.). Purse is nice but hide plastic on handles. Maybe place a bright colorful scarf to lay around some products on bottom or even hang over edge of crate door Flowing onto counter.
  • Kim
    on Oct 5, 2017

    yes!! I missed the color problem compleatly. Thanks!
  • Kate
    on Oct 5, 2017

    Glad to help. You did the all the hard work by starting.
  • Robyn Garner
    on Oct 5, 2017

    I'm so glad we're both "ok" lol! Have a great day, Kim
  • Yossy Alkabets
    on Oct 7, 2017

    love it
  • Linda Davis
    on Oct 7, 2017

    Your window is lovely, and with just a few little tweaks it can really reach out and draw more business. I like be your props, you just need to use them more. Paper or paint back wall of cabinet, then use risers at diff heights around it. Group, old bottles, maybe a vintage hand mirror and pics of some hairstyles with vintage inspiration, but modernized. Group sh/cn and deep co. Related products encourage larger purchase, mason jars can hold grooming tools, old vases( with lining), small buckets or baskets. Keep your signage bright and simple. post a logo in a prominent place. A vintage hair dryer would make a good spotlight Or focus after dark, and could fill some height and depth. Project like this really motivates me and gets my “use what you have” bubbling over!
  • Ebbjdl
    on Oct 7, 2017

    It's too busy looking, needs different items. pertaining to hair, maybe an old dryer, some nostalgic items, that would get my attention.
  • Emily
    on Oct 7, 2017

    I think it is nice for a window display but there is nothing to me that says "beauty salon" I would think before and after pictures of hairdoes would be appropriate or maybe just the windows empty so the interior can be seen. The salon I go to has blank windows aside from hours and maybe prices. Maybe even a screen with hairdos over time, or a picture of someone getting a haircut. You want to sell her services, not a collection of miscellaneous items.
  • Christierei
    on Oct 7, 2017

    There is no actual signage. You need some things in writing. You can buy inexpensive clear plastic picture frames that you can slip paper / photo in. Or use chalk board with cool writing. Tell people what is going on. "Save on Highlights", "Book now" "yes! we love walk ins", New Holiday nail polish colors, etc etc

    Also, take a look at the ceiling in front of the window. Use this space for small hooks, paper clip in drop ceiling what ever, and Hang signs or merch from the ceiling with clear fishing line. I think not doing this is why you had trouble taking advantage of the height of the window.

    Do you sell any of the vases ? Tag them. Put a group by the cash register.
    Don't forget that you can also use window paint on the outside of the window for writing or creating frames or arrows to point to something in window. I think doing windows is so much fun! Can you tell ? : )
  • GQ
    on Oct 7, 2017

    You need a few mannequins' heads with nice wigs to show that it's a HAIR salon, or at least pictures of great hair styles. As current, it looks like a antique shop or discount store.
  • Ind29278304
    on Oct 7, 2017

    Hi
    I wany to ask what is your concept? What kind of style are you going for? Judging by the pictures I might think you are going for a vintage style. Ask yourself whats your demographic of clients and what is the client's you are welcoming. For now as a "millenial" I would problably not enter but maybe older people might feel more comfortable. If you want a mordern look i would add better lightning like a chandelier, or bottom and top recess lightning. I would paint the top of the window display a darker color and than taht same color in a lighter shade (sides and bottom walls). If you sell product display that along with your work. Just dont do your work pics for that you can put it a binder. No flowers. Flowers always makes me wonder your creativity. When i see flowers I feel that was a short cut because your ideas run out. Maybr add a brush and a pair of scissors. Hopefully something help and I dont sound too judgemental. 😊
  • Peggy
    on Oct 7, 2017

    though a fairly simple design, it's still too "busy". The hair products just blend into nowhere. Emphasize them with color in the props and quantity-wise go heavier on the side of things representative of a salon.
  • Joy Armstrong
    on Oct 8, 2017

    I think I would also take away the cigar box.
  • Sharon
    on Oct 8, 2017

    I have done store windows,,,,, stand across the street and see if your design tells a story about getting hair, nails, tanning, body work done. The design should incorporate color to grab your attention, seasonal services like right now a back-to-school special, a Halloween makeup or face painting, and temporary hair color for your costume, a trend.
    If your going to feature products, include a sign..... Paul Mitchell sold here, and do a substantial stack of products in the center of the window, and a few of their great black and white hair art framed and floating on either side. Here is an example.... https://www.pinterest.com/pin/460774605608901354/
    Know who your market is, and their demographics - age range, their style i.e. business, student, housewives, men, etc. and what services they want hair, color, makeup, manicures, facials etc., what their disposable income is, ,
    Survey salons around your area, and check out their windows. Manicures and nail art are a great way to get people in the door, feature a board of fake nails with art on them to show off your manicurists skills.
Your comment...