Opinions on using this shower CURTAIN on my patio sliders?

+20
Answered
Live in mobile home where 84" floor length drapes are too long, 63" & 74" are too short. Considering shower curtain for sliding doors located in eat in kitchen. Possibly pattern valance+solid curtain, or extra long curtain hemmed. The Manor Hill® Sierra Copper shower curtain has ideal colors for location. They're also available in 102" length, so I could have ceiling to floor, & the amount removed could be used for crafts, such as covering container for pencil holder, fridge magnets, ribbons around dry flowers, napkin rings, etc. The "touch of iridescence adds shimmer & luster" concerns me as it might have too much 'pop'. HELP! The colors are ideal for my Tuscan colored kitchen. Brutal honesty please. Thanks!
q opinions on using this shower curtain on my patio sliders
  13 answers
  • Fiddledd224 Fiddledd224 on Jan 16, 2018
    As long as the color scheme works, I LOVE IT!!!
  • Dori B Dori B on Jan 16, 2018
    Can you post pictures showing the curtain on the sliding door? Can't tell anything with this closeup of just the shower curtain. It sounds like it might work ... but I need to see how it looks to give you an honest opinion,
    • See 1 previous
    • Marquetta Marquetta on Jan 17, 2018
      I haven't bought the curtains yet. Still doing the visual in my head. 🙄 The colors in the curtain pick up current colors of handtowels, vase, s&p, butter dish, utensils, etc. That's why I stopped dead in my tracks when I found this curtain online. My concern is reviews posted online mention a thread of shimmer. Not shimmery overload.... though I might add a lining to back of curtain to add privacy & cut down on sunlight pouring through emphasizing the shimmer.
  • Nancy Turner Nancy Turner on Jan 16, 2018
    As long as you don't mind a little shine over your sliders, I think it would look really good! If it is what you like, go for it!
    • See 1 previous
    • Marquetta Marquetta on Jan 17, 2018
      Thanks so much. The shine/shimmer is my major concern. I think it fits my personality, but that doesn't assure it would look good. Lol. That's why I'm seeking guidance. My first ever post at HOMETALK.
  • I think it is a fantastic idea! Go for it!
    • See 3 previous
    • Marquetta Marquetta on Jan 21, 2018
      Thanks so much.
  • Rita Taylor Lane Rita Taylor Lane on Jan 16, 2018
    Drapes do come in 81 inch but for me, I raised the level of my drape rod nearly to the ceiling and used 84 inch, ignoring the height of the widow itself. It makes my window and room look so much larger! Love it.
    • See 1 previous
    • Marquetta Marquetta on Jan 17, 2018
      Yes, whatever I choose will go all the way up to the crown molding, but, in mobile home, even going that high still leaves me to either buy 63", 72" and attach a valance to have enough length, or buy 84" drapes to shorten/hem.
  • Janet Pizaro Janet Pizaro on Jan 16, 2018
    personally it will be a bit much ....sorry
  • Marquetta Marquetta on Jan 17, 2018
    Thanks Janet. Bit much being the shimmer, or number of colors, both, or other reason. Sorry, just enjoy knowing what others see when opinion differs on decorating. Thank you!
  • Fiddledd224 Fiddledd224 on Jan 17, 2018
    Marquetta (love your name!)...that's why I do this...I love to help people out if I can 😁
  • Nancy Turner Nancy Turner on Jan 17, 2018
    Marquetta, the only thing you have to worry about is if you like it. If you like the material and goes with everything you stated above, go for it and deal with the little thread of shine once you find out what it is like hanging on your sliders. Go with your gut, not what others suggest, they are only suggestions for you to think about. You did great on your first post! Please continue to post with your questions, no matter what, we all have probably been there too and can help you through it.
  • Dori B Dori B on Jan 17, 2018

    Oh ... I thought you already had the curtain and was trying to find a place to use it. Actually ... if it matches everything, try it. If it looks tacky ... return it.
    Have you ever thought of using sheets? Some patterns looks great as curtains. Plus they can cover a larger area than a shower curtain. When you finish this project don't forget to post pix of it ... here.

    • See 1 previous
    • Dori B Dori B on Jan 21, 2018
      I love shopping online ... is there a better way? No!
  • Tammylu Tammylu on Jan 17, 2018
    I agree with Nancy and Naomie. Just do it!
  • Nancy Robison Nancy Robison on Jan 18, 2018
    i think you should do it! Please yourself! If your spouse or significant other doesn’t agree, ask for their suggestion. But, see how it looks to you!
  • Roxanne Dodd Roxanne Dodd on Jan 18, 2018
    It looks great. You need to have 3 colors that you bring together in other items in the room. A sofa pillow, a vase or whatever. I love the colors
Your comment...