Paint the chairs? hmmmmm.... OPINIONS time!! :)

+8
Answered
Hello! Well, I have those really old chairs that my dad's friend gave it to us. He threw away the bigger cushions. I was bumped. (lol) so, I went to meijer and got really new cushions but could use something bigger, it was 20 dollars for 2! HOLY COW! Too expensive! Also, is there any good place I can buy a bigger and thick ones for cheaper? Also, I am thinking about painting this because the paint is peeling off. Is there some kind of special paint you can use for this kind of service? What color should I use? I need some wonderful suggestions! Might paint them now, and buy the cushions next spring. What do you think?
q paint the chairs hmmmmm opinions time, painted furniture, patio, Chais
Chais
q paint the chairs hmmmmm opinions time, painted furniture, patio, Peeling off
Peeling off
  11 answers
  • Z Z on Sep 24, 2012
    Check your Walmart. Around here every store has all their cushions marked at ten dollar each no matter what size or original price. I had to go to a few stores to get what I needed, but it was well worth it for how much I saved and the quality I got. Mine are the Better Homes and Garden's brand. Here's a sample of a set on one of my chairs. I had to buy two for this chair, but if you are lucky you'll find the ones meant for your style of chair all in one piece for just ten dollars each chair.
  • Z Z on Sep 24, 2012
    For some reason I can no longer start another paragraph so I'm doing a second posting for the painting. I'd sand it down and then use a good primer meant for metal. If you want the same hammered look then there's a spray paint called hammered metal that gives that same look. I'd either buy the cushions first before picking the paint color or go with a neutral color.
  • Donna C Donna C on Sep 24, 2012
    Tyler or you can try a can of rustoleum paint from hardware store or Homedepot.They really have put out soooo many new paints. becky is right all the stores have those cushions on clearance if any left..Good Luck and be sure and post pics when you are done.Happy Painting!
  • Jan P Jan P on Sep 26, 2012
    Just did over my mom's iron set - had them sandblasted (while our pool was being done) and sprayed them with Rustoleum....got cushions at Home Depot (on sale) $20.00 for 2 cushions is not a bad price...can't make them for that $$. and I sew!! My set came out great!!
  • Crystal - 29 Rue House Crystal - 29 Rue House on Sep 26, 2012
    Some of the spray paints have built in primer so you can skip the priming step. I like Melissa's tip to spray every year....maybe you don't have to do a perfect spray every year but you can save the can and if you see any scratches or whatever you can just do a quick fix. Cans of spray paint are probably $4-7 a piece (I haven't bought any in a while) and you'd probably need two (just a guess) to do the whole thing.
  • Crystal - 29 Rue House Crystal - 29 Rue House on Sep 26, 2012
    Make sure you update us if/when you do it! :)
  • Tyler S Tyler S on Sep 26, 2012
    Totally a great advice! I might go to store next week and check it out. Thank you!
  • Monica Monica on Apr 07, 2015
    I suggest to paint the chairs with black spray paint and add a colourful and cheap cushion. I have 2 old chairs similar to yours, and they look great now. hope to be helpful
  • Bnd2070302 Bnd2070302 on May 19, 2016
    We have an outdoor dining set that must be over 20 years old. We sanded the pealing paint, washed it with TSP, then sprayed it with Rust-o-leum Hammeredmetal paint with primer. We used one called Amber, which is a beautiful golden brown with texture. It's been about 3 years since we did this and it still looks like new. I sew so I was able to recover the original cushions and add extra padding. Don't skimp on the cushions, it' worth it to pay a little more and have them fit the chairs. Actually I just looked at your picture again...your chairs are identical to mine! They are from the Martha Stewart collection from Kmart. You might check there for cushions that will fit right. Good luck!
  • Melissa vz Melissa vz on Jun 30, 2016
    I have the same set, Martha stewart set from Kmart. I just repainted mine with Rustolum Hammered metal in a brown finish. All we did was sand down the rusted peeling areas and sprayed. I did keep the original cushions, which were in great shape, just the color didn't match, so I painted the cushions as well...
  • Mamie Oatis Mamie Oatis on Sep 26, 2016
    Paint them. I painted mine metallic silver..purchased new covers from Walmart summer clearance . I love them