Hometalk.com

Hi There Here's how you can get the most out of your home & garden social network: Go home

I used "Restore" on my deck this past summer. Comes in multiple colors, and did exactly what I was told it would do -

Before & After 06.27.14
filled in cracks, covered well - no sanding invoived, Just powerwash, lite scrubbing at "mossy areas" and bang! I chose to not back roll the second coat and leave the finish product textured, to help when walking on it in icy conditions.
40 Comments | Add a Comment Displaying 15 of 40 comments | See Previous
  • Phil
    Phil Ormond Beach, FL
    Do you have a full view of this deck? I am curious to this whole pic?
    This comment has been reported and is under admin review.
    This comment was hidden for violating Hometalk's guidelines.
  • Terri J
    Terri J Annapolis, MD
    @ Paula and Mary - Peace Painting Company told me about this product here on HT. You may want to contact them to see about cleaning mildew and dirt off. I am almost positive that they will have answers to your problems as, I have had none of the issues
    This comment has been reported and is under admin review.
    This comment was hidden for violating Hometalk's guidelines.
  • Keri S
    It looks great !! I'm sure it will clean off dirt and whatever else gets on it as long as you use good detergents to clean it with that won't hurt the color or texture..
    This comment has been reported and is under admin review.
    This comment was hidden for violating Hometalk's guidelines.
  • Riggs Laughlin
    Riggs Laughlin Los Angeles, CA
    Yes you are right Keri i`m Riggs and i will do really like to know much more about you if you dont mind?
    This comment has been reported and is under admin review.
    This comment was hidden for violating Hometalk's guidelines.
  • Terri J
    Terri J Annapolis, MD
    The other thing is that I chose not to back roll the second coat to be smooth as the directions suggested. I wanted a rough texture to help my feet grip it better when we are in the winter months. I have recently just taken the regular hose to it, and
    This comment has been reported and is under admin review.
    This comment was hidden for violating Hometalk's guidelines.
  • Candy J
    Candy J Erwin, TN
    I wish the after pic was more clearer - cannot really tell what it looks like. Can we get another pic of it please - same distance as the before pic?
    This comment has been reported and is under admin review.
    This comment was hidden for violating Hometalk's guidelines.
  • Buyer Becareful
    Buyer Becareful Orting, WA
    When in the planning phase of a very large multi deckproject my client and I contact Rust-O-Leumsupport staff in regards to their product Restore. We explained to them that we were going toput their product over another product on one deck and we needed
    This comment has been reported and is under admin review.
    This comment was hidden for violating Hometalk's guidelines.
  • Pam Levario
    Pam Levario Hayden, ID
    I live in the Idaho panhandle, so technically the Pacific NW. It is raining right now and my deck is now liquified! I can take my finger and scoop it up! I made sure it was dry for 10 days after I applied it in September. No one told me anything about
    This comment has been reported and is under admin review.
    This comment was hidden for violating Hometalk's guidelines.
  • Terri J
    Terri J Annapolis, MD
    Pam, I was told about this product from a professional on Hometalk. It rained a few days after I applied mine, and I had no troubles. I am so sorry that you did though, and if you haven't already, I would call the manufacturer, and if you have your
    This comment has been reported and is under admin review.
    This comment was hidden for violating Hometalk's guidelines.
  • Pam Levario
    Pam Levario Hayden, ID
    Thanks, Terri, for your response. My deck looked a lot like yours, before, but had more paint, and with a satin like finish, so I chose to strip what I could of the many layers, then sand. Maybe I shouldn't have done that. I am going to talk with the
    This comment has been reported and is under admin review.
    This comment was hidden for violating Hometalk's guidelines.
  • Terri J
    Terri J Annapolis, MD
    @Pam, please email me at tmj1819@yahoo.com. I know way to much about what you are referring to, and may be able to give you some leads on getting help. I will tell you how I got
    This comment has been reported and is under admin review.
    This comment was hidden for violating Hometalk's guidelines.
  • Ed Anderson
    I applied Rust-Oleum Restore to my deck mid August 2013.

    We followed the manufacture's instructions religiously. We alsowatched their video for product application. We used

    This comment has been reported and is under admin review.
    This comment was hidden for violating Hometalk's guidelines.
  • Terri J
    Terri J Annapolis, MD
    @ Ed - sorry you had a bad experience w/ the Restore. I truly am, but I am still happy w/ mine, and I didn't use anything but plain water to pressure wash the deck. Thanks for sharing your experience, as it will give others two opposing views on the
    This comment has been reported and is under admin review.
    This comment was hidden for violating Hometalk's guidelines.
Terri J

Related Posts

Continue browsing
Feedback