Your opinion hanging these curtain rods flush to adjoining wall

+16
Answered
I have 2 new (3/4") rods to mount over 2 side by side windows today and wanted to extend at least 2 inches beyond the casing width on each side. The (mirrored) wall is about flush to the right side of window on the right. Do I ignore the fact that they won't be symmetrical in width?
Do you think I should continue the 2 inch spacing when mounting the rods in the space between the windows?
I researched long and hard to understand the mounting distance to ceiling and that the extra 2-4 inches width would look nice. Didn't anticipate the limitation of width on the right. #anotheroldhouseproblem
q your opinion hanging these curtain rods flush to adjoining wall, home decor, home decor dilemma, window treatments, I laid the rod on the sill The temporary window covering is on a tension rod
I laid the rod on the sill. The temporary window covering is on a tension rod.
q your opinion hanging these curtain rods flush to adjoining wall, home decor, home decor dilemma, window treatments, No I haven t painted the inside of window frame yet New panels are 84
No, I haven't painted the inside of window frame yet! New panels are 84"
q your opinion hanging these curtain rods flush to adjoining wall, home decor, home decor dilemma, window treatments, Bad shadows but you see the whole right wall is mirrored
Bad shadows but you see the whole right wall is mirrored.
  17 answers
  • Tina Wegner Tina Wegner on Nov 22, 2015
    Where would the middle be if you pretend it is one long window, that is where I would put the rods meeting so it looks symmetrical, one option is to leave the end off the side of the mirror or just butt up the end like you have in the picture so it looks like the window treatment just keeps going in the mirror.
  • Lynne Krywulycz Lynne Krywulycz on Nov 22, 2015
    Take advantage of the view in the mirrored wall and hang the curtains right across both windows and the bit of wall in between as Tina suggests. But I would hang the curtains higher than the top of the window to balance the horizontal length of the windows and reflection. I do not know if there is a mathematical equation for finding the ratio of length to width. Good luck, you have a real feature here, have fun.
  • Roxanna Roxanna on Nov 22, 2015
    I see what you're suggesting and would have never thought of that in the middle. Going for it but still allowing the two inches to mount left for left window. I'll see if I want to remove the finial on the mirrored wall. Thank you Tina!
  • Hope Williams Hope Williams on Nov 23, 2015
    Hi Roxanna. Another option is to hang them from the ceiling. I would go the length of the wall if possible. (Door on same wall as Windows?) basically, try to match the length of the mirrored wall to the length of the curtained wall. But definitely would hang from ceiling instead of wall mount. Good luck. It truly just comes down to your preference.
  • Mandy Brown Mandy Brown on Nov 23, 2015
    I'm like Hope. I would hang drapes from just below the ceiling line to the floor on both windows. It gives the illusion of having two larger windows when the curtains are closed and it doesn't break up the wall so much horizontally.
    • Hope Williams Hope Williams on Nov 24, 2015
      You explained it better than I did. Symmetry is what I was trying to say. I would also have them open toward the mirror.
  • Johnchip Johnchip on Nov 23, 2015
    Lat's face it, the narrow windows are ugly as they are. You must make them deeper by going above and below with normal sized window curtains. Keep neutral, but you might add a light pattern.
  • Juliya Sav Juliya Sav on Nov 23, 2015
    I would hang them either on the ceiling or right at the top of the wall. then hang the curtains all the way to the floor. this will create visually a taller room. Good luck
  • Barbara Barbara on Nov 23, 2015
    We had a similar situation in our previous home dining room. The near flush window to the right adjoining wall didn't leave space for the finial. The lack of balance and symmetry always bugged me while we were there but I knew that it was short term and since the room faced the street, we needed the privacy. I like symmetry, for those that don't care about it, your solution may be workable. Color is also a vital element, dark floor to ceiling drapes may make the space feel even darker and lend a feeling of being closed in. The mirrored wall is going to reflect what ever you put up and depending on the curtain/drape selection could make the room feel very busy. Tough one, I think I'd go with something very minimal, roman shades in a solid fabric or even plantation shutters that can filter light when needed.
  • Lizette Lizette on Nov 23, 2015
    I'm in agreement with Barbara. I would be putting roman shades on the inside of the window frames. It doesn't matter what kind of curtains you put up it will not look balanced. Besides the unbalanced look, once you hang a curtain against the mirrored wall, it will hide half your window and make it look even smaller and off balance. If you do choose do stay with the curtains then yes it should go to the ceiling and if you can find one long rod to go from one end to the other and not two rods, that would make it look even more balanced. And when hanging the curtains on the one rod, I would not be leaving any space between the curtains. Meaning you should not see any wall space between your windows, just curtains. I have something similar with one window up against a wall and I just didn't put the finial on the one end and so the curtain just sits all the way against the wall, in your case the mirror. You can't tell in my house though the way the lay out is. You may see this in your home though. Good Luck!
  • Colleen Colleen on Nov 23, 2015
    Is there even enough room on that right side when you factor in the mounting bracket, never mind the finial? I realize you already have your curtains and hardware, but could they be exchanged for an inside mount shade instead?....hard to tell what inside casing you are dealing with. The bottom line though, whatever you decide to go with, will look unbalanced because of the odd and unfortunate placement of that window, so just go with it.
  • Wanda sinnema Wanda sinnema on Nov 23, 2015
    Don't over think this.. they do not needed to be mounted equal distances.. you can achieve the look of that by how much you open the drapes.. if you want the look of more wall between mount them closer. to the edge of the window.. for the look of larger windows mount them closer together.. on the between space. If your drapes are heavy they will not compact quite as much it will cover some of the sides. My 12 ft living room window was close to a corner (not as close as yours) that was hung as far towards the corner as we could.. the other end was 2 ft from the window edge.. when opened they covered 6-8 in. of the actual window.. rest was wall that was covered.. it let in more light , if not it would have covered up almost 2 ft of window and light, I'd check out a local pro, explain the problem, take pics or diagram, they may offer a solution not mentioned here.., My concern is the huge mirror.. I'm sure it was put in to prevent the cave look. keep in mind everything you do in the corner will be reflected.. you will have 2 finials.. showing. ..I'd get rid of the mirror( another issue) wall first, do the drapes , then buy a huge horizontal mirror to get in more light..For the window issue,,I'd try you idea with painters tape,, and push pins where you are thinking. you can retry several times to get the look you want.. if you want the look of 2 separate windows maybe a mounted tie back to let a bit more light in.. or if you want the look of one window try the tieback and rods end to end-no finial between You can also purchase a drapery book at most home dec stores.. they have lots of problem solving sections
  • Diana Deiley Diana Deiley on Nov 23, 2015
    My suggestion would be to mount them 4 inches from the ceiling, adjoining them in the middle of the two windows, and 4" from the left window frame. Depending on which window you open, the mirror will give the illusion of equal sized windows.
  • JOHNNY JOHNNY on Nov 25, 2015
    SOMETIMES SYMETRY OR BALANCE MUST BE IGNORED WHEN DEAALING W/ STRUCTURAL ELEMENT THAT CAN NOT BE CHANGED. WHAT I DO SUGGES AGAINST THE MIRRORED WALL, REMOVE THE FENIAL ONLY FROM THAT SIDE, AND RUN THE CURTAIN FLUSH TO THE WALL. AN ALTERNATIVE IS INSTALLING A 90 DEGREE BEND TO YOUR ROD THEN REATTACHING THE FENIAL, THE MIRRIOR WILL REFLECT IT. PROBLEM YOU WILL HAVE TO MAKE THAT 90, I HAVE USED COPPER PIPE 90'S AND DEPENDING ON THE METHOD USED ON TO ATTACH THE FENIAL YOU WILL HAVE T EITHER USE A WOOD DOULE INTO THE ROD TO SECURE THE FENIAL. TO BALANCE THIS AS YOUR PICURE DOES NOT REVEAL THE OPPOSEING WALL AND WINDOW LOCATION, IF THE SAME DUPLICATE TO BALANCE COMPOSTIION
  • EllieH EllieH on Nov 26, 2015
    Easiest solution is to remove the finial near the corner/mirror & let the drapes hang flush to the corner (yes Johnny!). Done! Symmetry intact. Hanging them higher near the ceiling (but not ON the ceiling) to create height is always a good idea. Happy decorating!
  • Sandra Sandra on Nov 28, 2015
    I think you might want to return the rods (did you purchase the curtains too?) and consider wood blinds. If not wood,my here is s synthetic that looks just like wood. We have them at all our windows. They will be set into the frame. Also, when you tell them the dementions you will be able to get blinds that fit your windows without a bunch of wasted slates. Wood blinds and the synthetic blinds come in quite a few stains and white. You might also think of shutters.
  • Jean Jean on Dec 02, 2015
    I had a widow that was just not in the right place. I sheet rocked over the window and the room is now symmetric. No problems with light either.
  • Duv310660 Duv310660 on Dec 03, 2015
    I think removing the finial is fine, and a better option than kinda stuffing it into a space that it wasn't big enough. Especially if you are plannin to do any soft draping by using a curtain tieback or a 'swooping' scarf up top that trails down along the corner - your curtains will be reflected and it will not be obvious where the drapes end and reflection begins. Symmetry may look 'grand' but it is not everything. Balance is a more fluid concept and allows you to minimize irregularities by highlighting more impressive features: scale, proportion, texture, colour, etc. Focus on these things and don't let a few inches distract you! People in old stately manners have air ducts running up their walls too - a few irregularities can always be approached with an eye to disguise them.