Opinions please... distress or no?

+14
Answered
I’ve painted the desk in preparation to sell. I wasn’t going to distress it but now that we’ve started to sand it and a few areas of the wood underneath are showing through I like it. Opinions please.
q opinions please distress or no
  15 answers
  • Mogie Mogie on Feb 25, 2018
    I opinion is very biased. I hate the distressed look. Maybe because we are poor and don't like stuff that looks old and worn.
  • 27524803 27524803 on Feb 25, 2018
    If you are going to sell it... leave it alone.... the buyer can distress it if they want
  • Rhonda Brooks Rhonda Brooks on Feb 25, 2018
    I think you have found your solution. Continue on.
  • Sharon Sharon on Feb 25, 2018
    I think I would take a little glaze and use it only on the drawer fronts to hightlight the design.... pretty piece.
  • Itsmemic Itsmemic on Feb 25, 2018
    Maybe just the edges and drawer fronts to bring out the design. I am all for distressing :)
  • Pat Russell Pat Russell on Feb 25, 2018
    Yeah, what they said! I think light distressing would be best on this piece and it is pretty.
  • Shore grandmom Shore grandmom on Feb 25, 2018
    I'm usually not a fan of distressed furniture, but I think this piece would look great with the drawer fronts and just a little bit on the legs distressed. It has beautiful woodwork on it.
  • Flipturn Flipturn on Feb 27, 2018
    If you are going to sell it, then you want the piece to appeal to the most number of of potential buyers in order that it sells asap. A neutral color fits in with a wider range of decorating styles, and therefore would appeal to more people who see it, rather than it already being transformed into a particular distressed style, which has a limited attraction.
    Leave it as it is. Get it sold. Let the new owners distress it if they want to.
  • Theresa Theresa on Feb 27, 2018
    With all the curves and frilly details, this desk just screams "French Faux Vintage, Please!" Check out some images on Google to get inspired and have fun. (And you can sell for more $$) Nice drawer pulls, btw.
  • Stelmour450 Stelmour450 on Feb 27, 2018
    I would definitely use a little glaze on drawer fronts and legs as well.
  • Dianacirce70 Dianacirce70 on Feb 27, 2018
    I'd do a light sanding, go with a slightly darker stain and wipe the excess off. That would go far in aging it

  • Sarita S Parker Sarita S Parker on Feb 27, 2018
    Not a big fan of the current trend of "distressed furniture". It looks like "early married" from back in the day! Lol. However, everyone has different tastes. One must remember that an old piece of furniture becomes an antique after fifty years. Painting a nice wooden piece would ruin, or diminish the value, of a possible antique in the future. The kind of wood the furniture is made of, or the style, can make a difference. Just something to think about.
    • Karyn Renot Karyn Renot on Mar 01, 2018
      Damn.. I just painted a china cabinet from 1921 .. no one wanted it in its original condition.. even though I thought it was beautiful
  • Sarita S Parker Sarita S Parker on Feb 27, 2018
    Referencing my last post, I have seen an antique cherry mahogany coffee table ruined by distressing.
  • Emily Emily on Feb 27, 2018
    As a person who had an antique shop and very successful yard sales for years, I would leave it as it is. Time is money. You have one piece to sell (?) so have a very limited buyership. However if you want the learning/pleasure of distressing it, then do so, but don't expect to be able to ask more for it than you would as is.


  • Karla Karla on Mar 01, 2018
    I love the distressed look. I have done it on several pieces, even knowing I was going to do it when I bought them. Before I distresses I dry brushed them. It is so much fun doing it, you have an amazing piece.
Your comment...