Review: Command Hooks Are Life Savers! What Do You Use Them For?

Hillela G.
by Hillela G.
+47
Answered
I LOVE these little life savers. I'm a renter so I always have to find that balance between making my space mine and making my landlady angryicon .
That's why I'm crazy about Command hooks- they don't damage your wall and do the trick!
You can get different sizes depending on the weight and size of what you'd like to hang.
I used them to hang up my Living room gallery wall and I love the guilt-free results.
Have you ever used them before? How do you use them and where??









r review command hooks are life savers what do you use them for
r review command hooks are life savers what do you use them for


my Gallery wall :)
  29 answers
  • Colleen Thompson Colleen Thompson on Jan 30, 2017
    I am afraid to try or even trust things like this...my imagination runs wild with thoughts of broken items, lol!

    • See 2 previous
    • Julie M. Julie M. on Feb 02, 2017
      These are held by the command metal picture hangers. Larger than they look and they have been up two years.

  • Claire M Claire M on Jan 30, 2017
    Funny, I was just thinking this morning of getting some Command hooks to use on the side of my dresser to hold my tablet and phone when they are charging, maybe another even one for my (small) purse. I also have coat hooks on the inside of my pantry door but the coat nearest the door edge gets in the way when I try to close it, was thinking a couple of large Command hooks would keep it tucked in.

  • Cha18596653 Cha18596653 on Jan 30, 2017
    When I put up mini blinds in my kitchen, I put up Command hooks near the top of the window frame where the cord is. When I raise the blinds, I coil the cord around my fingers and place it over the hook to keep it out of reach of kids and pets.

    • Hillela G. Hillela G. on Feb 01, 2017
      So smart!! I never thought to use them for blinds, what a great solution

  • Nanablc Nanablc on Jan 31, 2017
    Have limited cabinet space in my little kitchen so I am hanging pots, little skillets, strainers and hot pads! Anything that has a hole in it gets hung! Looks good too!

  • O'Hara Nancy O'Hara Nancy on Jan 31, 2017
    I use the one thats for the lights to run oxygen lines over the top of door frame to keep from tripping in it

  • Pam Pam on Jan 31, 2017
    My husband is not fond of holes in the walls so I use them for everything. I even use them for hanging outside items on the siding. I live in the NE and it has lasted through cold winters. They are a lifesaver.

  • Julie M. Julie M. on Feb 01, 2017
    We have a travel trailer and I swear by these things. I use all the command products. My decor/clock is attached with the picture hanging strips. I even have a shelf above my toilet that holds 8 fluffy bathtowels that is supported by the extra large hooks. If my trailer was here, I would share all my uses but alas it is in storage. PS WISH I would have bought stock in 3M before I bought the trailer cuz I have bought so many and found them so useful and safe for walls!

  • Julie M. Julie M. on Feb 01, 2017
    BTW the wire ones in your pic are not handy in a travel trailer. Everything I used them on would fall off the wall when our travel trailer bounced along down the road. I use some of the wire ones at my house though!

    • See 1 previous
    • Julie M. Julie M. on Feb 02, 2017
      Thanks for all the great ideas. Command picture strips hold my artwork without having to take them down. I need to find some pics to show all the uses I have for Command hooks and picture strips.

  • Dawn Dawn on Feb 01, 2017
    We built a laundry room on our front porch. There are no electric outlets anywhere but behind the washing machine. I ran an extension cord from behind the machines to the side of the machine. I put a command hook on the side of the dryer and hung up the other end of the cord. Instant outlet!!!

  • Dani Moore Dani Moore on Feb 01, 2017
    My Mom is in a long term Care facility with Dementia. It is a great place, with good staff, but kinda "institutional" So I use the command hooks to put up seasonal decorations! Brightens up her room and makes the staff smile too.
    I also used them to hold LED strip lights in my laundry room.

  • Julie M. Julie M. on Feb 02, 2017
    Here are just a few of my uses in our former travel trailer. Just bought a new tt so I will be hanging all these things in my new one soon so we can hit the road.....

    • Julie M. Julie M. on Feb 02, 2017
      There is a command hook on the back of the booth that holds pot holders right next to my camper stove.

  • Julie M. Julie M. on Feb 02, 2017
    You can barely see the towel rack up in the left corner. That wire shelf is hung with three extra large command hooks.

    • Julie M. Julie M. on Feb 02, 2017
      Tissue holder is held by Command picture strips. Command hooks are all over the bathroom to hold towels or clothes.

  • Julie M. Julie M. on Feb 02, 2017
    This is held by Command picture strips.

  • Julie M. Julie M. on Feb 02, 2017
    Naomie, Any tips for great camping areas out your way?We frequent San Simeon/Pismo/Ventura area with our tt.

    • See 1 previous
    • Julie M. Julie M. on Feb 04, 2017
      Thanks so much for the camping tips! Will email you with a few tips of our own :)

  • Georgia Miller Georgia Miller on Feb 03, 2017
    I used the very small clear ones to carry fairy lights around the porch this last Christmas. Since they are clear I did not have to take them down.

  • Krissy Krissy on Feb 03, 2017
    What DON'T I use them for?! I'm a renter as well, and it's just heartbreaking to see cool design ideas that you think you can't do because you don't own the space. Not anymore! I've used Command strips to hang pictures of course, but I've used them to: attach molding strips to doors and walls, hang fabric as wall "paint", keep cords out of the way, attach sisal mats to the wall for instant cat scratchers, adhere decorative tiles to a fireplace surround, hang tiny primrose and air plants, attach a frame to my builder-grade bathroom mirror...I can't even remember what else! Command strips are the greatest thing ever, and I wish I'd bought stock in 3M too! :D

    • See 1 previous
    • Krissy Krissy on Feb 13, 2017
      You can find sisal mats lots of places. That rope-like stuff most cat scratching mats or posts are made of is sisal. They're often used for outdoor welcome mats too. I've found just plain sisal matting in stacks at World Market. I cut one down to about a foot wide and around two feet tall (kitty likes to stretch), and used Command Strips to stick one low on the wall near the baseboard, so he can also rub against it as he walks by.

  • Jessi G. Jessi G. on Feb 06, 2017
    I love the idea but almost every single time I have used them, my items fell off the wall a few days later. Including an heirloom plate that weighed a pound that was placed on a hook claimed to hold much heavier weights.

    • Dfm Dfm on Feb 14, 2017
      i've had the better luck having the strips stick if i clean the surface they are to stick to are cleaned with rubbing alcohol- let it dry and then put up the 3m strip/ hook let it set overnight and then put your item on it.

  • Mary jones Mary jones on Feb 08, 2017
    My daughter was in military housing in a high rise in Korea. She had one still in a stroller, AND several different strollers. There was a slight indentation off the hall at the front door. She had a plastic boot tray near the door off to the side but no room to house the McLaren fold up stroller. Grammie to the rescue. A few heavy weight command hooks to hang the stroller on the wall by the strap. Oh, two hooks in the bathroom for extra towels. Great product. Not as creative as some of u however.

  • Spe5095167 Spe5095167 on Feb 08, 2017
    I love Command Strips! We had a huge cord issue with my husband's computer stuff and the Command Strip Cord Bundlers saved my husband from my constant nagging.. LOL!

  • Terrie Neudorf Terrie Neudorf on Feb 09, 2017
    I use the metal ones on the backs of bathroom doors . Hang bath towels and wash cloths. For the kitchen put them on cupboard below the sink, hang wire from them for cleaning cloths and spray cleaner.

  • Charles E. Elrod Charles E. Elrod on Feb 11, 2017
    I use the small plastic ones to keep window blind strings out of grandkids reach. They work perfectly, place up close to top and place the pull ropes out of reach. Fit nicely on window trim.

    • Nancy Gramm Nancy Gramm on Feb 17, 2017
      Great idea, Charles! My cats are constantly playing with blind cords, so I twine them around the slats. Your idea is much better.

  • Lindcurt Lindcurt on Feb 11, 2017
    I have command hooks holding a plastic grocery store bag inside a cabinet that I use to store excess plastic bags. I also use hooks to hang plastic bags on the end of a cabinet to catch recycle trash, regular trash and garden scraps for composting. I empty them every couple of days. The hooks make a great pencil holder on the front of my fridge just above my grocery list.

  • Zahra Zahra on Feb 13, 2017
    I use the wraparound ones to hold my kitchen gloves on the inside of my cabinet door under the sink.

  • Nancy Wilson Nancy Wilson on Feb 14, 2017
    I use them to hang my bath puffs, brush and loofah in my tub. It's a great way to hang up the wash cloth too. I hang pictures of course. I used the strips to hang my homemade magnetic knife rack (made from a small wooden box with magnetic strips) in the kitchen. I used heavy duty ones to hold a rod to hang my angel wall hanging over the bed. They are great for hanging up the broom and dustpan in my closet. Scarves, belts, purses hang in the walk-in and look great with easy access.

  • Nancy Noel Nancy Noel on Feb 22, 2017
    I LOVE these and I have even used them to hang my quilting rulers on.

  • Joan Albers Joan Albers on Feb 25, 2017
    Our complete remodel of our large bathroom has Subway Tile on the walls. I have a glass sliding door on the shower opening. I followed the directions on Command hangers, to place heavy duty plastic holders to a tiled wall. I use them to get the bath brush and glass squeegy to use for cleaning glass door and parts of the tiled wall. I use the alchol rub first, as the directions tells one to do. I wait over night and place objects off the tiled shower floor. They have fallen off the tile wall three times. What can I do to keep them hanging stuff we use in the large shower? Thanks for all the good ideas...

  • Deb K Deb K on Jun 07, 2020

    These little beauties not only hold things on walls and doors, I use them to store the lids for my pots and pans inside the cupboard door! They stick to many types of surface! Love them!! See my attached picture.